Day One

My journey begins when I find myself in my bedroom with two of my friends stating that a Professor Juniper has gifted us with a Pokemon. Given that this is my room, my animated friends graciously give me the first choice.

Meet Eric.

Eric is called an “Oshawott.” A water-type creature that the Pokedex- an in-game catalog of sorts describes as “The scalchop on its stomach is made from the same elements as claws. It detaches the scalchop for use as a blade.” I am not sure what its claws are made of. Further research also reveals this other description: “It fights using the scalchop on its stomach. In response to an attack, it retaliates immediately by slashing.” I suppose that the composition of the claws and the scalchop is to remain a mystery.

After two quick battles where I thrash my friends (and my bedroom), my adventure finally begins…sort of. I get a tutorial on how to capture more of these creatures. It appears that one of my main goals should be to “catch them all.” I do not know if I will have patience for such thing, but I understand that having additional team members can be quite useful, so I shall endeavor to at least try. My first attempt I meet with success! Sookeh joins my team. The final tutorials are quickly dispatched and now that I am on my way to Stration City. My mother- who seems to be quite accepting of my journey despite youthful (especially in these modern times) age gifts me with a pair of running shoes so that I might traverse the countryside more quickly. Indeed, I do find I can now run.

And here is where I shall run – as much as I would like to continue my adventures, I still have other matters to attend to. Join me next time as I train Eric and Sookeh in my quest to defeat the first Gym Leader!

Got an idea for a game for Bill to play? Leave a comment or send a DM on twitter to @VampireBillC

Leave a Reply

